Does getting a DUI automatically result in a suspended license?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!

Driving is a privilege, not a legal right. In every state, drivers can have their license taken away if they are found guilty of behaviors that endanger the safety of other motorists. This includes driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

The length of time you will have a suspended license for a DUI varies by state. Kansas, Kentucky, and Missouri will suspend your drivers license for just 30 days if you are a first time offender. Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Virginia, however, take a much stricter approach to punishing drunk drivers and will pull your license for one year on the first offense.

Regardless of where they live, motorists can expect progressively harsher punishments for repeated DUI offenses. New Jersey drivers convicted of a DUI will have a suspended license for three months on the first offense, two years on the second offense, and ten years for the third offense. Vermont and Connecticut will permanently suspend the drivers license of a third time offender. 

In addition to a license suspension, drivers convicted of a DUI face a variety of other penalties. Jail time, fines, and community service may be imposed at the discretion of the judge. Vehicle confiscation and completion of a mandatory alcohol treatment program may be required as well.

Keep in mind that penalties for DUI apply to drivers who are found to have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) above the legal limit for their state as well as those who refuse to submit to a BAC test requested by a law enforcement officer.

Some, but not, states require drivers to pay for the cost of having an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle after they have completed their drivers license suspension. This device measures the driver's BAC level and prevents the vehicle from starting if the driver is found to be intoxicated.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "Does getting a DUI automatically result in a suspended license? "

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down (1 vote)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.