Is there a grace period for my registration?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!
You can learn if your state offers a grace period for vehicle registration from the grid below. If you harbor more questions about this topic, call your local state's DMV office. Or try visiting its Web site and search under registration renewal.

If your registration's expiration date is approaching or has passed, you need to initiate the renewal process as quickly as possible. Otherwise you'll risk accruing late fees and, possibly, getting ticketed. 

Grace Period No Grace Period
Alabama
x
Alaska
x
Arizona
x
Arkansas
x
California
x
Colorado
x
One month
Connecticut
x
Five days
Delaware
x
Florida
x
Georgia
x
Hawaii
x
Idaho
x
Illinois
x
Indiana
x
Iowa
x
One month
Kansas
x
Kentucky
x
Military personnel, upon returning, have 30 days to renew registration
Louisiana
x
Maine
x
Warning issued within 30 days of expiration date
Maryland
x
Massachusetts
x
Michigan
x
Minnesota
x
Mississippi
x
No grace period for enforcement, 15 days past renewal month for penalties
Missouri
x
Montana
x
30 days
Nebraska
x
Nevada
x
New Hampshire
x
New Jersey
x
New Mexico
x
New York
x
Grace period for one day if your registration expires on a holiday or weekend
North Carolina
x
15 days
North Dakota
x
Ohio
x
Oklahoma
x
Oregon
x
Military personnel returning from active duty have a 90-day grace period following date of discharge
Pennsylvania
x
Rhode Island
x
South Carolina
x
30 days
South Dakota
x
Tennessee
x
Texas
x
Five days
Utah
x
Vermont
x
Virginia
x
Washington
x
West Virginia
x
Wisconsin
x
Wyoming
x
Washington DC
x

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "Is there a grace period for my registration?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down (14 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.