How many hours of drivers ed does the state require?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!
The grid below will tell you whether you have to take a drivers education course and, if you do, how many hours the state requires.

Before you move on, keep in mind that:
  • If you’re required to take drivers ed, it might be before you can get your learners permit or it might be before you can get your full drivers license.
  • Most states require applicants to log an additional certain number of behind-the-wheel practice time with a parent or other licensed adult – even if they also require drivers ed. Be sure to consult your state’s Web site, driver handbook, or local driver licensing agency for details.
  • Your state might allow you to take driver ed online. If so, get a list of approved Internet courses and don’t forget to ask about logging additional behind-the-wheel hours.
Yes No
Alabama
x
If you opt not to take drivers ed, you must complete 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice.
Alaska
x
Arizona
x
If you opt not to take drivers ed, you must complete 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice.
Arkansas
x
California
x
30 hours of classroom instruction.
Colorado
x
20 from a permanent business plus 30 of parent-supervised training; 50 of parent-supervised training, OR 6 from an approved drivers ed course plus 44 parent-supervised training.
Connecticut
x
30 classroom and 40 behind the wheel, OR parent-taught training of 22 classroom, 40 behind the wheel, and an 8-hour course from an approved school.
Delaware
x
30 classroom, 7 behind the wheel, and 7 observation.
Florida
x
If your school doesn't offer drivers ed, you must take the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. Contact your school board or a course provider for details.
Georgia
x
30 classroom and 6 behind the wheel.
Hawaii
x
30 classroom, 6 behind the wheel.
Idaho
x
30 classroom and 6 behind the wheel.
Illinois
x
30 classroom and 6 behind the wheel.
Indiana
x
30 classroom and 6 behind the wheel.
Iowa
x
30 classroom and 6 lab time, 3 of which must be behind the wheel.
Kansas
x
Classes are available only through an approved, accredited school district. Contact the school board for details.
Kentucky
x
60 hours of driving practice (10 must be at night) before getting your license; 4-hour GDL course within the year after obtaining your license.
Louisiana
x
38-hour drivers ed course or 6-hour pre-licensing course.
Maine
x
30 classroom and 10 behind the wheel.
Maryland
x
30 classroom and 6 behind the wheel.
Massachusetts
x
30 classroom, 12 behind the wheel, and 6 observation.
Michigan
x
24 classroom and 6 behind the wheel.
Minnesota
x
30 classroom (also applies to home schooled applicants).
Mississippi
x
30 classroom, 6 behind the wheel, and 12 observation.
Missouri
x
But you do have to log 40 hours of practice time with a licensed adult.
Montana
x
Managed by the Records and Driver Control Bureau. Call (406) 444-3288.
Nebraska
x
Nevada
x
30 total, 15 of which behind the wheel. If you live more than 30 miles from a course provider, substitute by logging 100 behind the wheel.
New Hampshire
x
30 classroom, 10 behind the wheel, and 10 observation.
New Jersey
x
New Mexico
x
Course must include a 3-hour DWI component. Contact the MVD at (888) MVD-INFO for more details.
New York 24 classroom, 6 behind the wheel, and 18 observation, OR you can take a 5-hour pre-licensing course.
North Carolina
x
30 hours.
North Dakota
x
30 classroom and 6 behind the wheel.
Ohio
x
24 classroom and 8 behind the wheel.
Oklahoma
x
30 classroom.
Oregon
x
30 classroom, 6 behind the wheel, and 6 observation.
Pennsylvania
x
Rhode Island
x
33 hours.
South Carolina
x
30 classroom, 6 behind the wheel, and 6 observation.
South Dakota
x
Tennessee
x
But you do have to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience before you can get your unrestricted intermediate license.
Texas
x
7 behind the wheel and 7 observation.
Utah
x
18 classroom, 6 behind the wheel, and 6 observation.
Vermont
x
30 classroom, 6 behind the wheel, and 6 observation.
Virginia
x
36 classroom periods, 7 behind the wheel periods, and 7 observation periods.
Washington
x
30 classroom and 5 in-car (4 must be spent behind the wheel)
West Virginia
x
But you do have to log 50 behind-the-wheel hours.
Wisconsin
x
30 classroom, 6 behind the wheel, and 6 observing.
Wyoming
x
30 classroom and 6 behind the wheel.
Washington DC
x

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How many hours of drivers ed does the state require?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down (3 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.