If I am older than 18 do I have to complete drivers education to get a drivers license?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!
For most people, the answer is no; however, this varies by state. Check your state in the grid below.

You’ll see that most states don’t require applicants who are 18 years old or older to take drivers education; actually, some states have set the age to 17, 16, or even 15.

Yet, some of the states that don’t require formal drivers ed do require either some sort of safe driving or other instructional class or that you’ve held a permit or full drivers license from another state or country for a certain amount of time.

Why Take Drivers Ed?

Even if you’re part of the age group that isn’t required to take a drivers education course, you should still consider enrolling; the classes will help you sharpen your driving skills and learn the rules of the road and, for some, drivers ed can even help with car insurance discounts.

If you’re concerned about time, think about taking driver ed online. Those of you who are required to take a course will need to ask the state whether Internet-based classes are approved, but those of you who aren’t required to take the course can enroll in any online drivers education school you want.

Yes No
Alabama
x
Alaska
x
Arizona
x
Arkansas
x
California
x
Colorado
x
You don't have to take drivers ed if you're at least 16.
Connecticut
x
But you do have to take an 8-hour safe driving course if you're a first-time applicant.
Delaware
x
Florida
x
But you do have to take a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course if you're a first-time applicant.
Georgia
x
You don't have to take drivers ed if you're at least 16.
Hawaii
x
Idaho
x
You don't have to take drivers ed if you're at least 17.
Illinois
x
Indiana
x
You don't have to take drivers ed if you're at least 16.
Iowa
x
Kansas
x
Kentucky
x
Louisiana
x
Maine
x
Maryland
x
Unless you've held a full license from another state/country for at least 18 months.
Massachusetts
x
Michigan
x
Minnesota
x
Mississippi
x
You don't have to take drivers ed if you're at least 15.
Missouri
x
Montana
x
You don't have to take drivers ed if you're at least 16.
Nebraska
x
Nevada
x
New Hampshire
x
New Jersey
x
New Mexico
x
New York
x
Either drivers ed or the pre-licensing class.
North Carolina
x
North Dakota
x
You don't have to take drivers ed if you're at least 17.
Ohio
x
Oklahoma
x
You don't have to take drivers ed if you're at least 16.
Oregon
x
Pennsylvania
x
Rhode Island
x
South Carolina
x
South Dakota
x
Tennessee
x
Texas
x
Utah
x
Vermont
x
Virginia
x
Unless you opt to hold a permit for 30 days.
Washington
x
West Virginia
x
Wisconsin
x
Wyoming
x
But the state might waive your road test if you take a course.
Washington DC
x

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "If I am older than 18 do I have to complete drivers education to get a drivers license?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

0% thumbs up 100% thumbs down (1 vote)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.