How many hours must I attend DUI school?

Depending on your situation, you may be court-ordered to attend DUI school. These programs vary in length depending on your state. In most instances you must complete a DUI or DWI course in order to get your license reinstated. Schedules for DUI classes vary by programs, but are usually spread out over several weeks. Before enrolling make sure your course meets court approval.

For questions involving DUI laws, contact a DUI lawyer. These attorneys only represent drunk driving cases, making them experts in the field. They can provide counsel on DUI penalties, including mandatory DUI school attendance.

The following grid provides state-by-state information regarding the time involved with DUI schools. The second column, Enrollment by Circumstance, refers to states that don't mandate DUI school attendance, but offer it as an option as a way of possibly reducing DUI penalties.  

Mandatory Enrollment Enrollment Based on Circumstances
Alabama
x
24 hours
Alaska
x
24 hours
Arizona
x
A minimum of 16 hours.
Arkansas
x
10 hours
California
x
A minimum of 32.5 hours.
Colorado
x
12 hours
Connecticut
x
16 hours
Delaware
x
16 hours
Florida
x
A minimum of 12 hours.
Georgia
x
20 hours
Hawaii
x
A minimum of 14 hours.
Idaho
x
8 hours
Illinois
x
10 hours
Indiana
x
8 hours
Iowa
x
12 hours
Kansas
x
8 hours
Kentucky
x
20 hours
Louisiana
x
8 hours
Maine
x
20 hours
Maryland
x
8 hours
Massachusetts
x
32 hours
Michigan
x
8 hours
Minnesota
x
8 hours
Mississippi
x
12 hours
Missouri
x
10 hour Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders' Program (SATOP).
Montana
x
8 hours
Nebraska
x
8 hours
Nevada
x
A minimum of 8 hours.
New Hampshire
x
10 hours
New Jersey
x
16 hours
New Mexico
x
8 hours
New York
x
16 hours
North Carolina
x
10 hours
North Dakota
x
8 hours
Ohio
x
24 hours
Oklahoma
x
8 hours
Oregon
x
8 hours
Pennsylvania
x
12.5 hours
Rhode Island
x
8 hours
South Carolina
x
16 hours
South Dakota
x
8 hours
Tennessee
x
A minimum of 12 hours.
Texas
x
A minimum of 12 hours.
Utah
x
12 hours
Vermont
x
8 hours
Virginia
x
20 hours
Washington
x
8 hours
West Virginia
x
8 hours
Wisconsin
x
21 hours
Wyoming
x
8 hours
Washington DC
x
12 hours

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How many hours must I attend DUI school?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.