Will I lose my drivers license immediately after getting a DUI violation?

After being arrested for a DUI violation you, depending on your state, will be handed a notice of suspension that will serve as your temporary license. Each state has a different name for this. In Alaska it's called a Notice and Order of Revocation. While in Hawaii it's referred to as a Notice of Administrative License Revocation. There are some states, like New York, for example, that do not offer temporary licenses in the immediate wake of DUI or DWI. 

To better understand the ramifications of drunk driving convictions, contact a DUI lawyer. These attorneys are experts in their fields and can help explain in simple terms your state's DUI laws.

The majority of states in the grid offer temporary licenses. These documents remain valid as long as you file a hearing request within your state's alloted time. Failure to do so will automatically suspend your driving rights. 

Lose Driving Rights Receive Temporary Driving Rights
Alabama
x
File request within 10 days of your arrest.
Alaska
x
You'll receive a Notice and Order of Revocation and have 7 days to file a request.
Arizona
x
File request within 15 days of your arrest.
Arkansas
x
File request within 7 days of your arrest.
California
x
File request within 10 days of arrest.
Colorado
x
File request within 7 days of your arrest.
Connecticut
x
File request within 7 days of your arrest.
Delaware
x
File request within 15 days of your arrest.
Florida
x
File for an Administrative Formal Review Hearing within 10 days of arrest.
Georgia
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Hawaii
x
You'll be issued a 30-day temporary license
Idaho
x
File a request within 7 days of your arrest.
Illinois
x
File a request within 90 days of your arrest.
Indiana
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Iowa
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Kansas
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Kentucky
x
You'll be issued a temporary, 30-day license.
Louisiana
x
File a request within 15 days of your arrest.
Maine
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Maryland
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Massachusetts
x
Michigan
x
File a request within 14 days of your arrest.
Minnesota
x
You'll receive a temporary 7 day license before revocation begins.
Mississippi
x
File a request within 15 days of your arrest.
Missouri
x
File a request within 15 days of your arrest.
Montana
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Nebraska
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Nevada
x
You'll receive a temporary license good for 7 days.
New Hampshire
x
File a written request within 30 days of your hearing.
New Jersey
x
New Mexico
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
New York
x
North Carolina
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
North Dakota
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Ohio
x
File a request within 5 days of your arrest.
Oklahoma
x
File a request within 15 days of your arrest.
Oregon
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Pennsylvania
x
Rhode Island
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
South Carolina
x
File a request within 30 days of your arrest.
South Dakota
x
File a request within 120 days of your arrest.
Tennessee
x
File a request within 15 days of your arrest.
Texas
x
File a request within 15 days of your arrest.
Utah
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Vermont
x
File request within 7 days of your arrest.
Virginia
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Washington
x
File a request within 20 days of your arrest.
West Virginia
x
File a request within 30 days of your arrest.
Wisconsin
x
File a request within 10 days of your arrest.
Wyoming
x
File a request within 20 days of your arrest.
Washington DC
x
File a request within 5 days of your arrest.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "Will I lose my drivers license immediately after getting a DUI violation?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

0% thumbs up 100% thumbs down (1 vote)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.